• Home
  • Erik Van Vleck awarded Morrison Foundation Teaching Award

Erik Van Vleck awarded Morrison Foundation Teaching Award

Tuesday, April 7, 2015

Erik Van Vleck, professor of mathematics, received the 2015 Morrison Foundation Teaching Award. This award was established in 2008 by the Don and Pat Morrison Foundation to recognize outstanding teaching in mathematics. The Department of Mathematics selects a recipient each year in recognition of exemplary teaching and an ongoing active research program.

Van Vleck completed his master's degree from University of Colorado and his Ph.D. from the Georgia Institute of Technology. He came to KU in 2002 and was promoted to full professor in 2004. Before KU he was a faculty member at the Colorado School of Mines. His research interests are in applied mathematics, numerical analysis, ordinary differential equations/dynamical systems and numerical methods for PDEs. His research is supported by the National Science Foundation. He is currently co-organizing the Midwest Mathematics and Climate Conference. He received the department's G. Bailey Price award for excellence in teaching in 2004.

Events Calendar

Employee Recognition

Congratulations to our faculty and staff who will be recognized at the 2019 Employee Recognition Ceremony for their years of service to KU.

5 years
  Xuili Kang 
 Terry Soo

10 years
  Lori Springs

20 years
  Weishi Liu
  Ingrid Peterson

25 years
  Weizhang Huang

35 years
  Daniel Katz
  Bozenna Pasik-Duncan

45 years
  Tyrone Duncan