If you believe that you should start in a more advanced mathematics course, you can take the Mathematics Department Placement Exam. This is an in-person, procotored exam. Depending on the results of the exam, you could be eligible to enroll in MATH 101 or MATH 104; MATH 105, MATH 115, or MATH 365; or MATH 125. If the exam places you in a course lower than the ACT placement, you may still enroll in the course determined by your ACT score.

What you should know:

  • You will not be allowed to use a calculator.
  • You are allowed 55 minutes to take the exam.
  • You will be asked what KU Math course you are trying to place into. Remember, you cannot place into Math 116 or Math 126 (Calculus II)
  • Your results will be sent to your KU email.

Exam Schedule

Except where otherwise noted, the exam is given in 159 Snow Hall. Confirm times and location with the Mathematics Department. Registration is required.

Dates for Current Students
  • Tuesday, May 28 at 10:00 AM 159 Snow Hall
  • Thursday, May 30 at 1:00 PM 159 Snow Hall
  • Monday, June 3 at 2:00 PM 159 Snow Hall
  • Wednesday, June 26 at 1:00 PM 159 Snow Hall
  • Thursday, July 11 at 3:00 PM 159 Snow Hall
  • Tuesday, July 16 at 10:00 AM 159 Snow Hall
  • Tuesday, August 20 at 11:00 AM 159 Snow Hall
  • Wednesday, August 21 at 1:00 PM 159 Snow Hall
  • Thursday, August 22 at 1:00 PM 159 Snow Hall
  • Friday, August 23 at 11:00 AM 159 Snow Hall
  • Monday, August 26 at 10:00 AM 159 Snow Hall
  • Tuesday, August 27 at 2:00 PM 159 Snow Hall
  • Wednesday, August 28 at 1:00 PM 159 Snow Hall
  • Thursday, August 29 at 11:00 AM 159 Snow Hall
Dates for New Student Orientation Attendees Only

The room information will be given to you during one of your morning orientation sessions.

  • Tuesday, June 4 at 12:45 PM Kansas Memorial Union
  • Wednesday, June 5 at 12:45 PM Kansas Memorial Union
  • Thursday, June 6 at 12:45 PM Kansas Memorial Union
  • Friday, June 7 at 12:45 PM Kansas Memorial Union
  • Tuesday, June 11 at 12:45 PM Kansas Memorial Union
  • Wednesday, June 12 at 12:45 PM Kansas Memorial Union
  • Thursday, June 13 at 12:45 PM Kansas Memorial Union
  • Friday, June 14 at 12:45 PM Kansas Memorial Union
  • Tuesday, June 18 at 12:45 PM Kansas Memorial Union
  • Wednesday, June 19 at 12:45 PM Kansas Memorial Union
  • Thursday, June 20 at 12:45 PM Kansas Memorial Union
  • Friday, June 21 at 12:45 PM Kansas Memorial Union
  • Tuesday, June 25 at 12:45 PM Kansas Memorial Union
  • Wednesday, June 26 at 12:45 PM Kansas Memorial Union
  • Thursday, June 27 at 12:45 PM Kansas Memorial Union
  • Friday, June 28 at 12:45 PM Kansas Memorial Union
  • Tuesday, July 9 at 12:45 PM Kansas Memorial Union
  • Wednesday, July 10 at 12:45 PM Kansas Memorial Union
  • Thursday, July 11  at 12:45 PM Kansas Memorial Union
  • Friday, July 12 at 12:45 PM Kansas Memorial Union
  • Tuesday, July 16 at 12:45 PM Kansas Memorial Union
  • Wednesday, July 17 5 at 12:45 PM Kansas Memorial Union
  • Thursday, July 18 at 12:45 PM Kansas Memorial Union
  • Friday, July 19 at 12:45 PM Kansas Memorial Union


Events Calendar

Using Math

Nicole Johnson found a way to express her baton twirling using math.  See video.